New Commission for the Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library ( + call for artists!!!)

1.

Everyone knows I am a huge Dick Cheney fan.  I mean—he shot a guy in the face!

2.

When I first met Dick in late 2000, I was stunned by how small he was in person.  He kept asking me to reach “the high stuff” his office staff had put on his top shelves to keep him out of trouble.

3.

He laughed at the black bar across my face with my name on it.  But that day, he also said something that I never forgot.  He said, “Grrrr.  When I get my vice presidential library, grrrr, your art will be there, grrrr.”

4.

And true to his word, Dick called this past week.  “Joe Moma.  Grrrr.  My library.  Grrrr.  Almost done.  Grrrr.  Art now.”  Enough said.  The Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library Art Committee gave me a choice: create either a work of Dick wrestling a tiger, or a work of him fighting Mike Tyson.  I could find no factual evidence of him wrestling a tiger, but there is historical truth to his fighting Mike Tyson.

5.

It was a blustery night in late January, 2002.  The Potomac was frozen over.  President George W. Bush delivered his famed “Axis of Evil” speech.  Afterwards Dick was pumped.  He flew from D.C. to Vegas to “party hard,” according to his handlers, and while there instigated a fight with Mike Tyson (Tyson later said he had been at a dinner party when Cheney approached him and he felt “bullied” and intimidated into accepting the fight).

6.

They met before a packed house at the MGM Grand Garden Arena .  The outcome of the fight is known history.

7.

Dick took some hits but ultimately gave more than he received, and by the fourth round had driven Tyson into a corner.

8.

Mike struck back, trying to fight his way out.

9.

In the end, it was Cheney’s right hook that finished Mike.  The nation went wild!  Everyone was ready to follow “Fightin’ Dick” and his armies into war!!!

10.

My piece, Dick Verses Mike, will be etched into solid granite.

11.

This is the architect’s drawing of how my work will look in the Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library grand entrance hall.

12.CALL FOR ARTISTS!  I am curating art for the “Flame Room,” a unique space where books from other countries will be housed.  So here’s what I’m asking: create a piece of Dick Cheney art.   Email me your entry.  If I pick your work, you’ll get 1) your work in the Flame Room and 2) you’ll be paid handsomely from the Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library Taxpayer’s Art Fund.  Good luck and I’ll post winning entries as they appear!  – JM

WINNING ENTRIES BELOW!  PLEASE KEEP THEM COMING!

13.

ZERUCH.  He gets his art in the Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library Flame Room.  Expect contact from the Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library Art Fund Committee soon.  – JM

8 thoughts on “New Commission for the Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library ( + call for artists!!!)

  1. Oh my word how cool?! Yeah Dick Cheney is kind of legendary lol and this post had me cracking up. I have a dumb question, obviously I am very intrigued by this opportunity and I’m definitely going to try and do something for it. But when you say Dick Cheney art, you mean a piece inspired by him and with him represented in it? Also when does it need to be done by? Thanks so much for this chance!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know personally that Dick’s ok with any form of art that is either about him, or that in some way represents him. Once I heard him express that he’d someday like to be represented as a panda. Another time while cleaning Saddam’s legendary .45 (in the White House’s staff lounge of all places) I heard him consider himself more like Christian Slater in True Romance. Cathy – I’m completely confident that the muses will bestow upon you some awesome idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

